Coral Triangle

The Coral Triangle includes the coasts, reefs and open seas of six countries within South East Asia: Indonesia, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Malaysia, the Philippines, Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands.

These waters are the most bio-diverse marine realm in the world and are designated as a global priority for marine conservation. The Coral Triangle comprises just over 1.5 percent of the global oceans, yet it includes 30 percent of the world’s reef ecosystems, 76 percent of all global reef-building coral species and more than 35 percent of coral reef fish species are found in these waters. This exceptional natural splendour has resulted in descriptions such as the “bull’s eye of marine bio-diversity” in all of the world’s oceans.

  • Australia

  • Philipines

  • Vietnam